Colby and Donovan Win Select Board Seats; Charter Commission Effort Fails by Five Votes

A referendum vote that would have established a town charter commission fell just short of passage on Tuesday. The final tally was 387 in favor of creating a charter commission and 391 opposed.

In the race for two open seats on the Select Board, George Colby and Tammy Donovan defeated Peter Bragdon and Stephen Hathorne. Colby and Donovan won three-year terms and will replace outgoing board members Lenora Conger and Steven Libby.

Voters also approved the MSAD 15 budget by a comfortable margin, and elected Misty Coolidge, Nichole Stevens, and Laura Jane Sturgis unopposed to three open seats on the school board.

Full election results, as posted on the town’s website:

Board of Selectmen

299     Bragdon, Peter R                                       

364     Colby Sr., George W                                     

438     Donovan, Tammy L                                       

247     Hathorne, Stephen J                                     

6       Write-ins                                                       

212     Blanks                                               

MSAD #15 School Board 

469   Coolidge, Misty L

436   Stevens, Nichole D

106   Sturgis, Laura J (Write-In)  

 27    Other Write-ins

1311   Blanks

New Gloucester Water District Trustee

 65  Hardesty, Vaughn A

 3  Write-ins

 4  Blanks

MSAD #15 Budget Referendum

 495   Yes

 270   No

 15   Blanks

Charter Commission Referendum

 387   Yes

 391   No

5   Blanks

Total Votes:   783